Authorized Sodatide Retailer1 capsule a day - 30 per bottle60-day money-back guaranteeRef. lot SOD-26/SO-3954

Sodatide Blog

Akkermansia muciniphila Explained: What the Human Studies Show

Quick answer

In one small human trial, 10 billion pasteurized Akkermansia a day for 3 months improved insulin sensitivity by about 29% versus placebo. A second trial used a different five-strain formula. Sodatide lists Akkermansia in a 36 mg blend with no count, so its dose cannot be compared.

Revised Written and checked by the Sodatide Editorial Desk

White probiotic powder in a small glass dish

Akkermansia muciniphila is the newest name on many gut supplement labels, including Sodatide. Only a few human trials exist, and they used large, counted doses. Here is what they found, in plain words.

What it is

What is Akkermansia muciniphila?

Akkermansia muciniphila is a gut bacterium that lives in the mucus layer lining the large intestine. Its name comes from that habit: muciniphila means mucus-loving. It is a normal resident of many people's guts, and it is not found in everyday foods.

A glowing amber wave of light on a black background
An abstract image, not a microscope photo. Bacteria like Akkermansia are counted in billions per dose, which is why a count on the label matters more than a weight.

Why it shows up in metabolic products

Akkermansia became a metabolic ingredient because of trials that measured blood sugar and insulin, like the two below. That made it a natural pick for products sold for metabolic support. The human evidence is real, but it is still thin.

First trial

What did the first human Akkermansia trial find?

The first human trial gave adults 10 billion Akkermansia bacteria a day for 3 months. The pasteurized form was well tolerated and improved insulin sensitivity by about 29% compared with placebo (Depommier et al., 2019).

Who took part
32 adults who were overweight or had obesity
Daily dose
10 billion bacteria (1010), live or pasteurized
How long
3 months
Main result
Pasteurized form: insulin sensitivity up about 29% versus placebo
Safety
Well tolerated

What the trial did not show

The authors called it a proof-of-concept exploratory study. Thirty-two people is a small group, and a first result needs to be repeated. It also tested one bacterium alone, at a known count, in a set form.

The trial tested both live and heat-treated bacteria. The Sodatide label does not say which form its Akkermansia is in.

Five strain

What about the five-strain formula study?

A second trial tested a five-strain probiotic formula with inulin for 12 weeks. In 76 adults with type 2 diabetes, it improved blood sugar after meals (Perraudeau et al., 2020). That formula included Akkermansia, C. butyricum and B. infantis, the same three species named on the Sodatide label.

Read this carefully: That study used a different five-strain formula. It is not Sodatide, it had two strains Sodatide does not list, and its results cannot be moved over to a product with a different recipe and no published count.
Brand graphic titled Inside Sodatide showing chicory root, potato starch and a probiotic blend
The brand's own graphic of the three actives. The three strains share one 36 mg blend, and no share for each strain is given.

Why the overlap still matters

The overlap helps explain why these three species were picked. They have been paired with inulin before, in a formula that went through a controlled trial.

Why it is not proof

Probiotic effects belong to the strain and the amount (Hill et al., 2014). Same species names on two labels do not mean the same strains or doses. The study also ran in people with diabetes, and Sodatide makes no disease claim.

Category view

How do the Akkermansia studies compare with Sodatide?

Both trials ran for about 3 months, and the 2019 trial gave a clear daily count. Sodatide lists a weight instead, so the key rows below stay blank on its side.

Two human Akkermansia studies next to the Sodatide label
Depommier 2019Perraudeau 2020Sodatide
People32 adults, overweight or obesity76 adults with type 2 diabetesHealthy adults 18+
StrainsAkkermansia onlyFive strains, including the three belowAkkermansia, C. butyricum, B. infantis
Akkermansia amount10 billion a dayPart of a five-strain mixNot published
FiberNoneInulin211 mg inulin + 100 mg potato starch
FormLive or pasteurizedFive-strain mix with inulinNot stated on the label
Length3 months12 weeksNo study of its own
ResultBetter insulin sensitivity (pasteurized)Better after-meal glucoseNo trial result

Curious about Sodatide anyway? You have 60 days from purchase to decide.

Prices from $49 a bottle. Free US shipping on 3 and 6 bottles.

See today’s price

Missing count

What does the unlisted CFU count mean for Sodatide buyers?

It means you cannot tell how close Sodatide comes to the studied dose. The label gives 36 mg for three species together. Listing CFU is voluntary in the US, and the benefit depends on both strain and amount (NIH Office of Dietary Supplements).

  1. Read the blend line

    The label shows one weight for the whole blend. It does not split it by species.

  2. Look for a CFU figure

    There is none on the Sodatide label. Weight can include carrier powder and dead cells, so it is not a count.

  3. Ask the seller

    You can call the order desk and ask for a CFU figure. If none is given, treat the count as unknown.

  4. Set your expectations

    Without a count, the trials above explain the ingredient choice. They do not predict what one capsule will do.

Our label reading guide shows what a full probiotic line looks like. For the fiber side of the gap, see Sodatide doses vs research.

Clear label

What would a clear Akkermansia line on a label look like?

A clear line would let you match the product to a study. It needs five details, and Sodatide prints one of them. The table shows what we look for and what the Sodatide label gives today.

Five details that make an Akkermansia claim checkable
DetailWhy it helpsOn the Sodatide label
Genus and speciesTells you which bacterium it isYes: Akkermansia muciniphila
Strain codeEffects belong to a strain, not a whole species (Hill et al., 2014)Not published
Count per capsuleLets you compare with the 10 billion used in the trialNot published
Live or pasteurizedThe 2019 result came from the pasteurized formNot stated
Count good untilShows the count holds through the best-by dateNo date published

None of the missing details means the product is bad. They mean a buyer has to take the strain choice on trust. If the brand publishes them, we will add them here and update the date at the top.

Other strains

What about the other two strains in Sodatide?

The other two species on the label have their own small evidence base. Each study used one named strain at a counted dose, which is the pattern to look for.

Bifidobacterium infantis

One strain, at 100 million CFU a day for 4 weeks, eased pain, bloating and gas in 362 women with IBS versus placebo (Whorwell et al., 2006).

Clostridium butyricum

At about 1.9 billion CFU a day for 4 weeks, more people with diarrhea-type IBS improved than on placebo (Sun et al., 2018).

On the Sodatide label

Both species appear by name only, with no strain code and no count. Neither result can be applied to the capsule directly.

Cautions

Who should ask a doctor before taking probiotic bacteria?

Probiotics are usually well tolerated by healthy adults. A few groups should check with a doctor first, because live bacteria and some medicines do not mix well.

  • People with a weakened immune system, where probiotics have rarely caused serious infections (NIH Office of Dietary Supplements)
  • Anyone taking immune-suppressing drugs
  • Anyone on antibiotics, which can affect the bacteria in the capsule
  • People taking diabetes medicine, since the studies above looked at blood sugar

More detail is on the Sodatide side effects page.

Bottom line

The bottom line on Akkermansia in Sodatide

The human data on Akkermansia is early but real. One small trial used 10 billion cells a day. A second tested a five-strain formula that is not Sodatide.

Sodatide names Akkermansia on its label, which is a start. Until the brand prints a count, we cannot tell you whether a capsule holds anything close to the studied amounts. We would rather say that plainly than guess.

See how all three actives fit together on the Sodatide ingredients page.

Sources

Sources

Each study was opened and checked before we cited it.

  1. Depommier C, et al, Nature Medicine 2019;25:1096-1103: “Supplementation with Akkermansia muciniphila in overweight and obese human volunteers: a proof-of-concept exploratory study”. Open source
  2. Perraudeau F, et al, BMJ Open Diabetes Research & Care 2020;8:e001319: “Improvements to postprandial glucose control in subjects with type 2 diabetes: a multicenter, double blind, randomized placebo-controlled trial of a novel probiotic formulation”. Open source
  3. Hill C, et al, Nature Reviews Gastroenterology & Hepatology 2014;11:506-514: “Expert consensus document: The International Scientific Association for Probiotics and Prebiotics consensus statement on the scope and appropriate use of the term probiotic”. Open source
  4. National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Probiotics: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. Updated March 25, 2025. Open source
  5. Whorwell PJ, et al, American Journal of Gastroenterology 2006;101(7):1581-1590: “Efficacy of an encapsulated probiotic Bifidobacterium infantis 35624 in women with irritable bowel syndrome”. Open source
  6. Sun YY, et al, Scientific Reports 2018: “The effect of Clostridium butyricum on symptoms and fecal microbiota in diarrhea-dominant irritable bowel syndrome: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial”. Open source